#RoadtoNikeDC

So, I signed up for a half marathon. With two months to train. Did I mention I’m not, nor have I ever been, a runner. Yeah, pretty stupid.

It’s an item that’s been on my complete by age 25 bucket list, but the decision, or rather whimsical thought, that I could do it this year was clearly not well thought out. But, it has brought clarity to the notion of trusting the process through my training and fitness journey, overall.

1436_10201462918070113_37385950_n

First 8 mile run ever in life.

My impatience for seeing flat abs, strong legs and toned arms has always been my downfall for turning a New Years resolution into a routine. If there’s one thing these past few months have taught me, it’s to appreciate the in-between time. To treasure and appreciate the time it takes to achieve your goals because while it can be frustrating and defeating, it also builds a tremendous amount of strength (speaking physically, mentally and spiritually here). And God knows exactly what he’s doing because if I had long hair and flat abs tomorrow, you wouldn’t be able to tell me nothin as I run around in a sports bra and shorts, but I digress.

So, I’m practicing patience (for the first time in life). Embracing the “getting” and celebrating the little wins. Because really, there’s no end to my journey, only a higher level of achievement.

So, while I can’t wait to cross the finish line on April 27 and receive a Tiffany’s necklace, I’m already looking ahead to my next race.

“It’s not the having, it’s the getting.” – Elizabeth Taylor

Leave a Reply

